A few things I did not know before attending the #cipdLDShow

2 May

I was invited to attend the CIPD Learning & Developing Show at London Olympia on 30th April and 1st May. I found it fascinating and extremely challenging as my day job has officially very little to do with L&D. Here are a few things I learned at my first conference of the year.

  • I didn’t really know what a MOOC (Massive open online course) was… Not in detail anyway. I know a lot more about how it all began and how it has developed in the last couple of years. I wish that the conference had shown me how it all works and what it looks like once you have enrolled. However, it left me curious and I can’t wait to find out more. The session made me realise the how this could be an incredibly powerful tool for personal development and an easy sell in departments and companies. Please have a look at Tim Scott’s article on the MOOC session here.
  • Companies like Google and Deloitte are using a similar learning approach to the MOOCs. It is social, it is fun, interactive and you have the freedom to choose what you want to learn next. Those companies trust you to know what development and what new skills you need to become an even better professional. They really did showcase some great L&D practices and I came to the conclusion that I want to work for them!
  • The story of Sir Ernest Shackleton and his expedition to the Antarctic. A great example of resilience and leadership. Fascinating story, check it out by reading the second part of Julie Drybrough’s storify here or this brilliant summary.
  • I survived the London tube strike by getting on a taxi. It wasn’t as expensive as people say. And London cab drivers are lovely! Also, when it rains in London, it really rains!
  • I had never seen or heard of ‘Leadership Lessons from Dancing Guy’. If you haven’t either, do have a look, it’s brilliant.
  • L&D professionals love selfies! And they are smiley, positive and creative people. However, I knew that already!

Image

Image

Image

  • If not fully appreciated or not given the freedom to experiment, L&D faces very similar challenges to the HR departments. However the potential is enormous, so please let learning and development lead the way. The case studies at #cipdLDShow would prove to any board of directors the enhanced potential for business growth provided by a well thought out L&D practice. It has been great to hear those case studies and I wish there would be more success stories around as I have yet, in my life as an employee, to come across L&D practices as superb as the ones showcased in the past two days.

One Response to “A few things I did not know before attending the #cipdLDShow”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. CIRCUS – creating outperforming HR conferences | The Resource Force - May 6, 2014

    […] I enjoyed it and I learned. I went away with some good tips and learned some serious stuff and not so serious stuff.   Point is, I did go away with more knowledge about the profession and having heard some good […]

Leave a comment